Electing County Leaders

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said the arc of history bends toward justice, but it can  be a jagged journey. Don’t be too idealistic about what one politician can achieve, because that may lead you to become cynical about politics. Democracy is messy, with many voices and demands in the mix. Persistence and organizing with others will pay off! A small number of voters can swing a local election.

County Commissioners

New Hanover County voters will elect 2 of the 5 members on the Board of County Commissioners in 2022. The winners serve a term of 4 years. The Board sets the annual budget for schools, elections, sheriff’s department and other agencies; and it oversees zoning, affordable housing, transit options, and other vital services. The election is partisan; you may vote for 2 candidates.

The candidates are:   

  • LeAnn Pierce (Republican)
  • Tom Toby (Republican)
  • Travis C. Robinson (Democrat)
  • Rob Zapple (Democrat)

Board Of Education

Four of the 7 School Board members will be elected “at large” (countywide) in 2022. The Board hires the Superintendent and oversees finances, pupil placement, school policies, and curriculum choices.

You may vote for up to 4 candidates; the winners serve a 4-year term:   

  • Josie Barnhart (Republican)
  • Judy Justice (Democrat)
  • Nelson Beaulieu (Democrat)
  • Melissa Mason (Republican)
  • Pat Bradford (Republican)
  • Veronica McLaurin-Brown (Democrat)
  • Dorian Cromartie (Democrat)
  • Peter C. Wildeboer (Republican)

NC General Assembly

New Hanover Co. voters will send 5 legislators to the General Assembly in Raleigh to debate & adopt laws and a state budget affecting jobs, healthcare, schools, taxes, discrimination, roads, voting, pollution, abortion, guns and more. Legislators represent voters in particular Districts. District lines have been redrawn; find yours at ncvoter.org/distr.

The candidates are:

  • House District 18: Deb Butler (Democrat) vs. John Hinnant (Republican)
  • House District 19: Charlie Miller (Republican) unopposed
  • House District 20: Ted Davis Jr. (R) vs. Amy Block DeLoach (D)
  • Senate District 7: Michael Lee (Republican) vs. Marcia Morgan (Democrat)
  • Senate District 8: Bill Rabon (Republican) unopposed

Learn about the candidates on your ballot at NCVoterGuide.org and Vote411.org.

Where To Vote Early, Oct. 20- To Nov. 5

Voters may use any of the FIVE SITES listed below. They are open weekdays, Oct. 20-Nov. 4, 8 am-7:30 pm; Saturday, Oct. 29, 12-5 pm; Sunday, Oct. 30, 12-5 pm; and Saturday, Nov. 5, 8 am-3 pm:

  • Northeast Library, Paynter Room, 1241 Military Cutoff Road, Wilmington
  • CFCC Downtown Campus, Health Sciences Building, 415 N. 2nd Street, Wilmington
  • CFCC North Campus, McKeithan Center, BB&T Auditorium, 4500 Blue Clay Road, Castle Hayne
  • Carolina Beach Town Hall, Police Training Room, 1121 Lake Park Boulevard, Carolina Beach
  • NHC Senior Resource Center, Multipurpose Room, 2222, S. College Road, Wilmington