Electing County Leaders

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said the arc of history bends toward justice, but it can be a jagged journey.  Don’t be too idealistic about what one politician can achieve, because that may lead you to become cynical about politics. Democracy is messy, with many voices and demands in the mix. Persistence and organizing with others will pay off! A small number of votes can swing a local election.

County Commissioners

Harnett County voters will elect 2 of the 5 members on the Board of County Commissioners in 2022. The Board sets the annual budget for schools, elections, sheriff’s department and other agencies; and it oversees zoning, affordable housing, transit options, and other vital services. This year, voters who live in District 1 or District 2 may vote for a candidate to represent their District on the Board. Other Districts vote in 2024. (District lines have been redrawn. To find your District, see ncvoter.org/distr. The Districts are different from those for School Board and General Assembly.)  

The candidates are: 

  • District 1: Anna O. Bryant (Republican) vs. Barbara McKoy (Democrat)
  • District 2: W.H. (Bill) Morris (Republican) unopposed

Board Of Education

Three of the 5 School Board members will be elected in 2022. The Board hires the Superintendent and oversees finances, pupil placement, school policies, and curriculum choices. Voters who live in Districts 1, 3 or 5 may vote for the Board member to represent their District. Voters in Districts 2 and 4 will select their Board member in 2024.

Candidates this year are:

  • District 1: L.A. Durante (Republican) vs. Sharon McNeill Gainey (Democrat)
  • District 3: Brad Abate (Republican) unopposed
  • District 5: Don Godfrey (Republican) unopposed

NC General Assembly

Harnett Co. voters will elect state House members from 2 Districts and a Senator to the General Assembly in Raleigh to adopt laws affecting jobs, healthcare, schools, taxes, discrimination, roads, voting, pollution, abortion, guns and more.

Choose the best candidate to represent your District:

  • NC House 6: Kiara Johnson (Democrat) vs. Joe Pike (Republican)
  • NC House 53: Howard Penny Jr. (Republican) vs. Kevin G. Thurman (Democrat)
  • NC Senate (countywide): Jim Burgin (Republican) vs. Richard Chapman (Dem.)

Learn about the candidates on your ballot at NCVoterGuide.org and Vote411.org.

Where To Vote Early, Oct. 20- To Nov. 5

Voters may use any of the FOUR EARLY VOTING SITES listed below. The sites are open weekdays, Oct. 20-Nov. 4, 8 am-7:30 pm; Saturdays, Oct. 22 & Oct. 29, 8 am-5 pm; Sundays, Oct. 23 & Oct. 30, 1-5 pm; and Saturday, Nov. 5, 8 am-3 pm:

  • Harnett County Commons Area, 309 W. Cornelius Harnett Blvd., Lillington
  • Western Harnett High School Gym, 10637 NC 27 West, Lillington
  • Erwin Parks and Recreation Gym, 810 S. 16th Street, Erwin
  • Angier Elementary School, 130 E. McIver Street, Angier