Electing County Leaders

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. said the arc of history bends toward justice, but it can be a jagged journey.  Don’t be too idealistic about what one politician can achieve, because that may lead you to become cynical about politics. Democracy is messy, with many voices and demands in the mix. Persistence and organizing with others will pay off! A small number of votes can swing a local election.

County Commissioners

Bladen County voters will elect 3 of the 9 members on the Board of County Commissioners in 2022. The Board sets the annual budget for schools, elections, sheriff’s department and other agencies; and it oversees zoning, affordable housing, transit options, and other vital services. This year, voters who live in Districts 1, 2 or 3 may vote for a candidate to represent their District on the Board. (To find your District, see ncvoter.org/distr.)

The election is partisan. Only 1 candidate filed to run in each District this year: 

  • District 1: Arthur A. Bullock (Democrat) unopposed
  • District 2: Charles Ray Peterson (Republican) unopposed
  • District 3: Cameron McGill (Republican) unopposed

Board Of Education

Five of the 9 School Board members will be elected in 2022. The Board hires the Superintendent and oversees finances, pupil placement, school policies, and curriculum choices. All voters elect 3 candidates to fill 3 County-Wide seats; in addition, voters who live in Districts 1 or 3 may vote for 1 member to represent their District. The elections are partisan.

Candidates are:

  1. County-Wide (vote for up to 3):
    1. Harfel Davis (D),
    2. Dennis R. Edwards (R),
    3. Steve Kwiatkowski (R),
    4. Vince Rozier (D),
    5. Cory Singletary (D)
  2. District 1:
    1. Gary N. Rhoda (D) unopposed
  3. District 3:
    1. Keith Locklear (R) vs.
    2. Jerome L. Purdie (D)

NC General Assembly

Bladen County voters will send 2 legislators to the General Assembly in Raleigh to debate & adopt laws and a state budget affecting jobs, healthcare, schools, taxes, discrimination, roads, voting, pollution, abortion, guns and more. The General Assembly candidates are unopposed this year:

  • NC House: William Brisson (Republican) unopposed
  • NC Senate: Brent Jackson (Republican) unopposed

Learn about the candidates on your ballot at NCVoterGuide.org and Vote411.org.

Where To Vote Early, Oct. 20- To Nov. 5

Voters may use any of the FIVE EARLY VOTING SITES listed below.  They are open weekdays, Oct. 20-Nov. 4, 8 am-7:30 pm; three Saturdays, Oct. 22, Oct. 29 & Nov. 5, 8 am-3 pm; and two Sundays, Oct. 23 & Oct. 30, 1-5 pm:

  • County Board of Elections Office, 301 S Cypress Street, Elizabethtown
  • East Arcadia Town Hall, 1516 E. Arcadia Road, Riegelwood
  • Tar Heel Municipal Building, 14867 NC 87 Hwy. W., Tar Heel
  • Dublin Town Hall, 7386 Albert Street, Dublin
  • Spaulding Monroe Culture Center, 508 MLK Jr. Drive, Bladenboro